A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

The Seven Traditional Planets of Magick

The seven traditional “planets” of magick are the five planets visible without a telescope plus the Sun and Moon.  The way the planets are used in this book has little to do with astrology or predicting fortunes.  It also has nothing to do with astronomy so traditional astronomers will just have to forgive the convention of calling the Sun and the Moon planets.

Consider the planets to be specific archetypes living in our subconscious.  In other words, each planet is symbolic of deeply rooted personality traits within the human psyche.  Understanding these traits, which are essentially straightforward, will help a student understand other aspects of magick, such as the symbolism of the tarot and the Tree of Life.

These symbols are also psychologically powerful in themselves and their meanings are used throughout magick on a regular basis.  These symbols are utilized in rituals and in the construction of talismans.  They are also fundamental to the language used amongst magicians.  The planets are shorthand for seven specific types of energy, a complete system by itself, even without the zodiac:



Roman (Greek)


Diana (Artemis), usually known as Luna or the Moon

Mystery and intuition.  Purity, grace, and inspiration. 

Jupiter (Zeus)

Royalty, expansion, benevolent rulership, stability.

Saturn (Kronos)

Time, Karma, and death.  Heaviness.  Life lessons.  Discipline.

Mars (Aires)

Destruction, violent change, and power.  Typical “male” energy.

Venus (Aphrodite)

Love and romance, but also sometimes debauchery.  Nurturing protection, Mother Nature, and vegetative growth.  Typical “female” energy.

Apollo (Apollo), usually known as Sol or the Sun

The center.  Warmth, sight, light, and healing.  Music and joy.


Mercury (Hermes)

Wit, intellect, speed, alacrity, and trickery.  Mercury is also sexually ambiguous—it’s never clear if he has no gender or both.  As you’ll learn as you make your progression through this book, Mercury is a wily one—seemingly everywhere at once, yet impossible to pin down. 


            These definitions are a bit succinct so if you wish to know more about a specific planet’s energy, just research the corresponding Greek or Roman god in any mythological resource.  Other gods from different pantheons are also appropriate.  For example, Krishna from Hinduism fits under the Sun, while Loki from Norse mythology is a trickster, thus putting him under the dominion of Mercury.  Much more on how to use the planets in rituals and spells in the magick book.

Comments are closed.